History Optional Strategy

Hi, This post is divided into 3 parts..

Part 1
The main purpose of this post is to reblog the history preparation post by Gaurav Gupta (part 3). However, I too had history optional last year (cse 2012) and got 235 marks in it. Gaurav Gupta has given his book list. Additional books referred by me are here:

1. From Plassey to Partition by Shekhar Bandopadhyay (best book, most scholarly work I read)
2. “Bharat Ka Itihaas” (hindi) by Aashirwadi Lal Srivastava
3. “Madhyakaleen Bharat” Part 1 and Part 2 by Harish Chandra Verma
4. Delhi University Compilation for Ancient India, Medieval India and Modern India.
5. Romilla Thapar on Ancient India
6. Europe Since Napoleon by David Thomson
7. For map, I got a book “Indian Historical Places” by Dr. H.C. Jain and also a blackboard and chalk and duster. My father would then take a quiz where he would take the name of the place and I would mark on the board and tell stuff about it. Of course this is no longer the pattern now.
8. A. L. Basham.
9. Satish Chandras for medieval.

Still I found my preparation lacking. There were some questions which were asked out of the blue. Basically in History, historians often debate among themselves on various topics. A question may be asked out of that debate and to get good marks, we have to read those debates and write material discussed there. Although I haven’t read it, I am told the book by BL Grover on modern India which has many such debates.

My notes for history optional can be downloaded from my other post..

Part 2

D. Amarkesh (AIR 217, cse 2012) is one of the strongest history students I know. His notes are available at

Amarkesh Notes

Amarkesh Notes Alternative Site

I will request him to add more.

Part 3

3. I am reblogging here the History optional preparation post by Gaurav Gupta who got 239 marks in it (highest so far heard). Pls direct all queries to him at https://www.facebook.com/gauravg85 or his blog https://abhipraay.wordpress.com.


Abhipraay: The Blog

History as optional –

First of all one should take optional based on his interest as this subject is you would be reading for next 1-2 years or more so you must have zeal to go deeper, read new books by new writers to learn and understand various perspectives. And that is why I took History as optional despite being told by some people that it is not ‘scoring’, or it has ‘large syllabus’. However once I decided, I made sure that I should not get such thoughts. In UPSC all subjects are scoring provided you are answering what is asked.

Other benefits of History as optional (once you have decided that you have interest in it) –

  • I take history as very scientific, analytical and objective subject as you have to frame your answer based on historical evidences/facts and records.
  • I liked to read about how was our past…

View original post 1,389 more words

29 thoughts on “History Optional Strategy”

  1. hi Gaurav,

    just to ask you, what do you mean by
    “Delhi University Compilation for Ancient India, Medieval India and Modern India.”

    Also, D. amarkesh notes linke, if there is any, is missing. please upload the same here.

    thank you

  2. gaurav sir, please help in socio strategy if you know some topper from ur batch,would be of immense help.

  3. Gaurav bhai jaan thanks a lot for all the help and effort you r putting in for us.
    i would request you to kindly provide the strategies for sociology paper 1 n paper 2 n esp. 4 paper 2 as ppl are usually getting less marks in that particular paper.
    CSE 2014 Aspirant

  4. Gaurav, ur blog is very good and helps aspirants…. me too followed almost same strategy, got 248…mostly self study…Sumit Sarkar can be a suggested one for modern India…
    Feels that developing a “own” writing style helps a lot in optionals these days…

  5. @Gaurav sir…
    Sir can u request any of your friends, who got rank with Anthropology optional to write their strategy..??

  6. Sir, my name is shivram varun . i am a student of D.U. in bsc(hons) with mathematices. And i want to ask you ki yadi written exam me mai math ka paper english me du aur interview hindi medium me dun to kya aisa ho skta h. aur mujhe bhugol me bhi bda interest h lekin ye mujhe basik se padhna padega kya bhugol choose krna mere liye achchha rhega ? Plz help me sir. Aur darshan shashtra ke bare me b btayen .

  7. Sir,
    History optional me note making ke tareeke pe kuch hint dijiye. Which will be more preferable:
    Aur aap extra points (say, a few points that you found later on a topic already covered in the notes) kaise incorporate karte the notes me?
    Thanks in advance?

  8. hello sir,
    for modern history part in history optional what is better ..multiple reads of a single book like india’s struggle for independence which cover most of the syllabus unit by unit. or go for 2 or more books like plassey to partition.

  9. Sir
    You told us about history debates as source of few unexpected questions…
    From where to access such debates??

      1. sir you are helping us a lot. Thank you so much but one humble request. Please do consider giving english translations also for your comments as many from non hindi speaking states cannot understand your comment.

  10. Sir it is said that it is important to read old ncert books as i am going to take history as my optional but i have new ncert books, so does it make any difference. Waiting for your reply.

  11. Hello Sir,many blog suggests modern India by sumit sarkar for optional. Is this good book for optional? Also this book is available in two publication one is Macmillan and another is Pearson, which should be preferred…?thanks….!

  12. Thank you sir. For showing right direction for study. It help to those who cannot get the tuition facility & seeking for help in UPSC preparation

    1. Hi Puja!
      I’m from West Bengal. I dont’t know so much information, but I wanna an IPS. Plz give me some suggestion in my whatsapp no 07063444477. Plz plz…

Leave a Reply

